MICHEAL LOCKYER

Physiotherapist


B Sc Hons Physio (US) 2017

B Sc Sport Science (US) 2009

Master in Adapted Physical Activity (EMMAPA) (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) 2012 Thesis: The effect of trunk strength in paraplegic wheelchair racing performance

Field of Interest:
Sports Injuries, Orthopaedics, Post-operative and Respiratory Rehabilitation; Neurological conditions; ICU; Hospital recovery and rehabilitation

Special Interests:
ICU, Orthopaedics and Sports Injuries

MORE ABOUT ME


I grew up in Pretoria and attended school at Pretoria Boys High School. In 2004 my family moved to Somerset West. I finished my schooling at Paul Roos Gymnasium. I completed my BSc Sport Science degree at Stellenbosch University where I found a passion for working with people with disabilities. This led me to apply to complete my Masters at Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium. I spent two years in Belgium and had a short stay in the Czech Republic near Prague. During my Masters I gained valuable knowledge in terms of working with individuals with movement difficulties and adapting activities so that they too could participate in physical activity. I also gained significant life experience whilst abroad and was bitten by the travel bug.

Upon returning to South Africa and in desperate need of an income and lack of work, I worked at a bank where I soon discovered that I was not made to work behind a desk. At the ripe old age of 26 I started studying Physiotherapy at the University of Stellenbosch. Although being much older than most of my peers, I felt fulfilled in my studies and interaction with people of various backgrounds on a daily basis.

After graduating in 2017, I was posted at Khayelitsha District Hospital for my community service year. I learned a significant amount with regards to physiotherapy but also about empathy and being grateful for what I have.

I enjoy a balance of treating patients at our rooms and in the hospital as each aspect poses it's own challenges. I have enrolled myself into the Orthopaedic Manual Therapy (OMT) course for 2020 in order to develop my skills and treat my patients even more effectively. Although I am able to treat a wide variety of conditions and injuries, I enjoy sport related problems, post-operative rehabilitation and working in an ICU setting.

My wife and I moved to Hermanus at the beginning of 2019 where we have enjoyed our time in the community in a social and professional sense. We have recently added a beautiful little baby to the family. We look forward to making many more memories and an impact in the community. I enjoy outdoor activities, photography as well as cooking and gardening. I also like to try my hand at woodwork when time allows it.

I find that it is important to build trust with my patients as this wins half the recovery process whether it be pain relief or post-operative rehabilitation. Communication and honesty is key when it comes to effective treatment and it is important to act in my patient's best interest. I also seek to educate and empower my patients to understand and manage their pain and recovery process. I look forward to assisting you in pursuing a pain-free and active lifestyle.


Call Now ButtonCALL NOW